New Campaign Monitor single team accounts created from 3rd August, 2026 will be utilizing our latest billing system, powered by Chargebee. If your account was created on or after this date, some information in this article may not apply to you — see Chargebee monthly billing for the current billing article.
Campaign Monitor offers three monthly plans, with different feature inclusions for each pricing tier. If you find that needs have changed, it's easy to switch plans. Alternatively, you can pause your plan by switching to pay per campaign billing.
Change your payment plan
To choose a different payment plan for your account:
- Click your profile image at the top right, then select Billing.
- Click View or change your plan.
- On the "Choose a plan" page, select a new payment plan then follow the on-screen instructions to save the changes.
To switch from monthly to pay per campaign, click the Pay per campaign link at the bottom of the page.
When billing changes take effect
Billing changes will take effect depending on your action. If you:
- Upgrade a monthly plan — The difference will be charged immediately.
- Downgrade a monthly plan — The account will switch to the new plan when the current billing month finishes.
- Switch from monthly to pay per campaign — The switch to pay per campaign will take effect at the start of your next billing cycle.
- Switch from pay per campaign to monthly — The first monthly amount will be charged on the date you switched billing methods, with subsequent bills issued monthly.
Feature downgrades
When you downgrade a monthly plan from Premier to Unlimited, Unlimited to Basic, or from any monthly plan to pay per campaign, you'll lose access to features tied to those higher-priced plans.
Certain areas of your account may be affected when the downgrade takes place and, as a result, features are disabled. For example:
- Scheduled campaigns
- Emails containing dynamic content
- Journeys
- Engagement segments
Learn more in our guide to managing feature downgrades
Switching back to monthly
If you change your mind after switching from a monthly plan to pay per campaign, you can switch back to the same monthly plan at no extra charge, so long as:
- You switch back before your original plan's last billing period was due to end.
- Your subscriber count hasn't pushed you up a billing tier.