Feature downgrades guide

The availability of features, and your level of access to support, are determined by the billing plan your account is on. If you decide to downgrade your plan, some areas of your account may be affected as a result of features being disabled.

Below, we'll explain what happens when a feature is switched off in your account, and if there's anything you need to do to keep everything working smoothly.

Account changes to be aware of

If you're downgrading your plan soon and are not sure which features will be disabled, view the plan comparison table to see which features are tied to each plan.

You can switch back to a billing plan you've downgraded from at any time to regain full access to the associated features.

You won't need to do anything when advanced link tracking is disabled. The query string that was being used to track your campaigns and journey emails will simply no longer be included in your links.

Email builder section locking

When this feature is disabled, you'll no longer have access to the setting that allows you to lock sections in a template. Your email builder templates that had locked content sections will not be affected, the locked sections will simply be unlocked. This will also happen to recent emails that were created using a template with locked sections.

Engagement segments

When engagement segments are disabled, they will immediately stop calculating, meaning they will no longer be an accurate indicator of subscriber engagement. Because there are many places where segments can be used, engagement segments remain visible in your account so you can make adjustments to avoid any content being sent unintentionally.

For example, an email in a journey that's set up to send to a specific engagement segment will need to be edited by either changing the email content, or removing the segment-based recipient filter.

Your disabled engagement segments will still be visible on the segments page in your account, but they'll be moved to the bottom of the page below your regular segments.

Engagement segments in regular segments

After you downgrade from the Premier monthly plan, any regular segments that use engagement segments as a rule will stop updating, and are not editable. You can, however, delete these segments. Engagement segments will no longer show as a rule for any new segments you create.

Local time zone sending

After the plan downgrade, you won't be able to schedule a campaign to send in the recipient's local time zone. However, any previously scheduled campaigns that make use of this feature will be unaffected, so long as you don't edit the scheduled campaign before it's due to send.

Send time optimization

As above, you'll lose access to send time optimization for any new campaigns, but previously scheduled campaigns will not be affected unless edited.

Subscriber activity journeys

When this feature is disabled, all subscriber activity journeys will be turned off. If there are currently subscribers in those journeys, they will continue to move through the steps “silently”, where the journey will not send them emails, or update their custom fields. This is the same behavior as when a journey is manually turned off.

AI features

AI features aren't available on pay per campaign plans. If you downgrade to a pay per campaign plan, you'll lose access to all AI features in your account.

If you downgrade from Essentials or Premier to Lite, some AI features will move to limited trial access, and others will stay included in your plan.

Limited trial access on Lite plans:

  • AI email booster
  • Segment mapper
  • Email workspace
  • Creative lab
  • Social suite

Included on all plans except pay per campaign:

  • AI email writer
  • Brand hub
  • Translation

When you lose access to these features, or your limited trial access runs out, you can't use AI to improve email content, generate campaigns in email workspace, create segments with segment mapper, generate images, or create Instagram posts from a campaign. On pay per campaign plans, you also can't use AI email writer or brand hub, or translate campaigns.

You can upgrade to Essentials or Premier at any time to get all AI features included in your plan.