Can I edit the default subscribe and unsubscribe confirmation pages?

You cannot edit the default pages in any way but you can point people to your own custom confirmation pages instead.

The default pages you can change vary depending on list type, single or confirmed opt-in, and the type of subscribe form being used. On this page we'll explain the differences and show you how to set up your own custom pages.

For information relevant to the subscriber list you're working on, click on the list type below:

Note: Both single and confirmed opt-in lists use the same unsubscribe confirmation page. See the section on unsubscribe pages for instructions on replacing the default version.

Single opt-in confirmation pages

For single opt-in lists there is one confirmation page for the subscribe process and one for unsubscribing. Below is the default subscription confirmation page, displayed after the form is submitted:

You can replace this confirmation page with your own if you're using an HTML subscribe form for sign ups. If you use a hosted subscribe form or subscribe button for sign ups, the subscription confirmation is built-in, meaning subscribers cannot be redirected to a custom landing page.

Setting up custom confirmation pages

If you are using an HTML subscribe form for sign ups, follow the steps below to replace your single opt-in list's subscription confirmation page with a custom web page.

  1. Open the subscriber list you want to modify.
  2. Click Customize landing pages in the right sidebar:

  3. On the following page, remove the default "success page after they submit the form" URL and replace it with your own confirmation page URL:

  4. Click Save changes to complete.

From now on subscribers will be redirected transparently to your custom confirmation page after they have filled in the subscribe form.

Confirmed opt-in confirmation pages

For confirmed opt-in lists there are two confirmation pages for the subscribe process and one for unsubscribing. The first sign up confirmation is displayed after the subscribe form is submitted. It instructs people to check their inbox for a confirmation email:

The second page is displayed after a subscriber clicks the confirmation link in their verification email:

You can replace both confirmation pages with your own when using an HTML subscribe form for sign ups. If you're using either a hosted subscribe form or subscribe button you can only replace the second confirmation page, pictured above.

Setting up custom confirmation pages

If you are using an HTML subscribe form for sign ups, follow the steps below to replace your single opt-in list's subscription confirmation page with a custom web page.

  1. Open the subscriber list you want to modify.
  2. Click Customize landing pages in the right sidebar:

    On the following page, remove the default "success page after they submit the form" URL and replace it with your own confirmation page URL.
  3. Click Save changes to complete.

From now on subscribers will be redirected transparently to your custom confirmation page after they have filled in the subscribe form.

The unsubscribe confirmation page

Both single and confirmed opt-in lists use the same unsubscribe confirmation page, which can be replaced with a custom page no matter what type of subscribe form is being used.

The default confirmation page, displayed after someone unsubscribes, looks like this:

To replace it with your own unsubscribe page, follow these steps:

  1. Open the subscriber list you want to modify.
  2. Click Unsubscribe settings in the right sidebar:

  3. On the following page, find the section titled "Redirect unsubscribers to your own confirmation page" and replace the default URL with your custom page URL. (Also see note.)
  4. Click Save unsubscribe settings to complete.

Note: If you need to point to a secure confirmation page, if your site has an SSL certificate, you can include https:// on the custom page URL.