Remove Salesforce contacts or leads from subscriber lists

Campaign Monitor for Salesforce provides a number of ways to remove people from subscriber lists, all from within your Salesforce account:

Note: Both "deleted" and "unsubscribed" will prevent any further emails from being sent to the contact. Learn more about the difference between these subscriber statuses.

This help topic is based on the Spring '17 release of Salesforce, using the Salesforce Classic interface.

Change a contact or lead subscriber status

To change the subscriber list status of an individual:

  1. In Salesforce, open the person's Contact or Lead page.
  2. Below "Subscriber List Memberships", click Edit next to the list name you want to change the status in.
  3. Change the Status dropdown menu to either "Deleted" or "Unsubscribed".
  4. Click Save.

You can optionally click the Unsubscribe All button to remove them from all Campaign Monitor subscriber lists.

Set subscriber status to "deleted" when a contact or lead is deleted

Note: Access to the Campaign Monitor Admin app is required.

To automatically unsubscribe deleted contacts and leads from subscriber lists:

  1. In Salesforce, click the app menu at the top right, then select Campaign Monitor Admin.
  2. Click the General Settings tab.
  3. Change the fourth option, "When I delete a contact or lead I want to update any linked records in Campaign Monitor to show a deleted status", to Yes.
  4. Click Save.