How does monthly billing work?

If you send emails frequently or have large subscriber lists, monthly billing is the most cost effective option.

You can see exactly what you'll pay as sending increases, by referring to our tiered pricing. We also move you between tiers automatically when sending increases or decreases, so you will never pay for more than you need.

Read more about what each plan includes.

Work out your monthly rate

Your monthly rate is determined by the number of active subscribers across all of your lists at the time a bill is due. Inactive subscribers are those with a subscriber status of unsubscribed, bounced, unconfirmed or deleted.

For example, if you have five lists with 8,000 active subscribers on each list, you will be billed based on a total of 40,000 subscribers (8,000 subscribers x five lists = 40,000).

If the subscriber lists grow or the number of emails sent exceeds your plan's sending limit (applicable to basic plans only), the monthly rate moves up to the next pricing tier. If the subscriber lists decrease, so could the monthly rate.

View monthly rates

To look up your current monthly rate, click your profile image at the top right, then select Billing. To see how costs will scale as sending increases, click See all tiers, found below the monthly plans.

IMPORTANT: If the same email address is active on multiple lists, it counts multiple times against the total. You can avoid duplication by using segments to create sub-lists, instead of having separate lists for different audiences.

FAQs

Below are some answers to questions we’re commonly asked about monthly billing. If you have a question we haven’t addressed please contact us.

Do I have to pay by credit card?

Yes, for monthly billing plans we only accept payment by credit card. The only other option is to choose pay per campaign billing because this can be paid for with email credits, and email credits can be purchased in bulk without a credit card.

Can I be invoiced in a different currency?

Yes, if the currency that has been set for your account is incorrect you can switch. Campaign Monitor supports six currencies for account billing.

What day will the monthly charge be taken?

When you select monthly billing, the first monthly amount is charged immediately. From that date (and time) onward charges recur monthly, billed to the credit card you supply.

Billing periods start at the same time every month. For example, if your first monthly billing charge is taken at 2:38pm, every monthly bill that follows will be charged at the same time. To see what time your next billing period starts, check when the last invoice notification email was received.

Note: If a billing cycle is activated on the 31st, the charge will be taken on the last day of the month for months with less than 31 days. It reverts to the 31st for subsequent charges.

What is the minimum monthly contract term?

There is no minimum contract period for paid plans. For monthly billing your only commitment is for the current month purchased. You are free to cancel your account at any time or, to keep your account active but stop monthly payments, see the following answer.

How do I cancel monthly billing?

If you want to take a break from sending you can stop monthly payments and still keep your account active. To do this, just switch from monthly billing to pay per campaign billing. You can switch back again later if you want to.

Note: The change in billing will take effect immediately, so the very next campaign sent will be charged for on the spot. Therefore, it makes sense to wait until the end of the billing period before switching billing options.

What happens if my credit card is declined?

If you are paying a monthly charge and your card is declined we'll send you a notification email. As soon as you update your card details we'll take the payment and the affected account will be able to send campaigns.

During the period that a credit card payment has failed and updated details are pending, you will not be able to send any emails. If you are running automated journeys, they will also be paused — unless there are leftover email credits in your account to continue sending them.

As soon as payment details are updated everything will be back to normal, and paused journeys will be restarted automatically. In cases where the payment problem is temporary and your credit card details are correct, we will keep trying to process the payment a few times over.

What happens if I go over the send limit on a basic monthly plan?

You will be presented with two options:

  • Increase your monthly sending limit by paying the difference between the current pricing tier and the higher tier. On your next billing cycle, your sending limit will return to what it was and you'll be charged your normal monthly fee.
  • Upgrade to an unlimited monthly plan, paying the difference between the current plan and the new plan immediately. You will start paying the new amount for the unlimited plan the following month.

What happens if I import more subscribers than I’m paying for?

You will be moved to a higher pricing tier and charged the new rate at the start of the next billing period. Or, if a campaign is sent or scheduled before the next billing period, you will be charged the difference between your current pricing tier and the higher level tier.

If this happens, you’ll see a payment increase notification in your account when you next try to send a campaign. The notification will advise you of the amount owing to cover the difference from one tier to the next.

Can I prevent my plan from moving to a higher pricing tier?

No, because moving between tiers is done automatically based on how many active subscribers you have and your plan's email send limit. The latter applies to basic plans only.

If you're on a basic plan, keep an eye on your send history — if it's looking like you're repeatedly hitting the send limit, consider switching to an unlimited plan.

Can I switch between monthly plans?

You can switch between basic, unlimited and premier at any time by clicking your profile image at the top right, selecting Billing, and then clicking View or change your plan. Upgrading a plan requires the difference between the two plans to be paid on the spot. After that, the upgraded plan kicks in immediately.

If the switch is from premier to unlimited, or unlimited to basic, you will stay on the higher plan for the remainder of the billing period. The lower plan starts from the next billing period.

If I downgrade from the premier plan, can I still contact phone support?

Premier plan phone support will not be available if you downgrade to the monthly unlimited or basic plans.