How do I remove subscribers from lists?

You have a couple of options. There's a tool in your account to remove subscribers in bulk, or you can select individual subscribers from a list and remove them manually.

The action of removing a subscriber from a list means you are changing their subscriber status to deleted or unsubscribed. This does not delete them from your account entirely. The only way to do that is by deleting the entire list, or lists, they are on.

On this page:

Using the remove subscribers tool in your account

With this method you can remove one or more subscribers from one list, or all lists belonging to the client, at the same time. You will need the subscriber's email addresses to remove people this way.

To remove subscribers using this method:

  1. Open Lists & Subscribers for the client and select the subscriber list you want to remove people from.  
  2. On the subscriber list page click Remove subscribers in the right sidebar. 
  3. Type or copy-and-paste the subscriber email addresses into the text box, one address per line. 
  4. Select "all my lists" or "this list only" (these options are explained below), then click Remove subscribers.

Here's the difference between removing subscribers from all lists, versus a particular list:

  • Remove from all my lists – Subscriber status is changed to unsubscribed and the email adresses are added to the client's suppression list. To make sure you don't accidentally email these people again, choose this option.
  • Remove from this list only – Subscriber status is changed to deleted and the email addresses are not added to the client's suppression list.

Note: Choosing "all my lists" will remove subscribers from all of the client's lists except for any lists where the unsubscribe setting has been changed to "only unsubscribe them from this list".

Removing subscribers from a single list

With this method you can search for subscribers by name or email, and choose if you want to change the selected subscriber's status to deleted or unsubscribed. 

To remove subscribers using this method:

  1. Open Lists & Subscribers for the client and select the subscriber list you want to remove people from. 
  2. On the subscriber list page, browse or search to find subscribers you want to remove and tick the checkbox alongside them. This will display a "Move selected to" menu in the toolbar below the list. 
  3. Click the drop-down menu and select Deleted or Unsubscribed, then click Move.

The subscriber status editing tool is displayed when a subscriber is selected:

Deleted versus unsubscribed

Email campaigns sent to a subscriber list are only sent to active subscribers on the list. When you need to remove subscribers because you don't want any more emails sent to them, you can achieve this by changing their subscriber status to deleted or unsubscribed.

This section explains how the two options work, so you can decide which is best.

Deleted status

When you move an active subscriber to deleted status:

  • that person will no longer receive any emails sent to the list
  • they will no longer count toward your subscriber total for billing purposes
  • it does not add them to the client's suppression list
  • their subscriber activity for campaign reports will be preserved.

Unsubscribed status

When you move an active subscriber to unsubscribed status:

  • that person will no longer receive any emails sent to the list
  • they will also be unsubscribed from any other lists belonging to the client that they are subscribed to, except for lists where the unsubscribe setting has been changed
  • they will no longer count toward your subscriber total for billing purposes
  • they will be added to the client's suppression list
  • their subscriber activity for campaign reports will be preserved.

Tip: Why choose deleted over unusbscribed? A common approach is to select unsubscribed any time the subscriber asks to be removed, and use deleted if you have chosen to remove them for any reason. That way you can easily tell the difference later on.